smiles and more smiles

24 Oct

one thing I can always look forward to upon my arrival in Karambayam is the curious stares and excited waves from nearby school children.

the local primary school yard faces the main road just across from the health center, and I have yet to escape their notice when I arrive or depart. [I try to be discreet, given that they’re in school and I don’t want to interrupt their learning….no such luck.]

it always starts off with one eager “hi!”, to which I smile and wave back while mouthing a quiet “hi!” (again, trying to be mindful that they’re in school). by the time I’ve started waving, a dozen other children have noticed, and before I know it, the whole class has rushed to the school yard edge to bid me welcome or farewell.

this 30 second exchange makes my day. every.single.time.

I’ve yet to capture this moment until now. but with my dwindling days in Karambayam, I knew I had to snap a picture of their great send off.  this is the picture that resulted.

I’m sure their teachers loved me.

One Response to “smiles and more smiles”

  1. Kelly October 24, 2011 at 5:47 pm #

    Well, we love you. This is a precious photo!

Leave a comment